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Maine Revenue Services Rulemaking Activity 
(As previously announced in a June 21, 2012 tax alert email) 

 
Amendments to Rule 803, “Withholding Tax Reports and Payments.”  Rule 803 was 
adopted in 1982 and most recently amended in 2003.  This rule identifies income subject to 
Maine withholding and prescribes the methods for determining the amount of Maine income tax 
to be withheld from wages, non-wage payments, and pass-through entity income.  It also 
explains the related reporting requirements, including mandated electronic filing. 
 
The following changes are being proposed for this Rule.  Section .01, subsection E is revised to 
be more precise.  Section .04(C)(1) is amended to reference recently passed legislation related to 
minimum taxability thresholds.  Section .06 is revised to create a new paragraph (1) and to 
reflect changes to pass-through entity filing and withholding, to cite new tax rates, and to create 
new automatic exemptions to filing in subsection C(1).  An application date is added to the Rule.  
Revisions are also made to make language more precise and to correct format, including 
renumbering, correcting references and titles. 
 
A copy of Rule 803 with proposed changes can be found on the MRS website at 
www.maine.gov/revenue (select Laws & Rules).  Comments are due by July 23, 2012 and should 
be directed to Nanette Ardry, Esq., Maine Revenue Services, 24 State House Station, Augusta, 
Maine 04333, (207) 624-9725, nanette.m.ardry@maine.gov. 
 
 

2012 Tax Law Changes 
 
A summary of the 2012 Maine tax law changes is now available on the Maine Revenue Services 
web site at www.maine.gov/revenue (click on “2012 Legislative Changes”). View this link to see 
the latest changes, including Sales Tax, Property Tax, Estate Tax and Income Tax legislation. 

 
 

New Appeals Process for State Tax Assessor 
Determinations 

 
The process for appealing a tax assessment or other determination made by Maine Revenue 
Services (MRS) is changed.  Generally, the new appeals process will be as follows: 

 
- To appeal a Maine tax assessment or MRS determination, the taxpayer must, within 60 

days of receiving the assessment or determination, submit a request for reconsideration to 
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Division Reconsideration, Maine Revenue Services, PO Box 1060, Augusta, ME 04332-
1060.  MRS has provided a Petition for Reconsideration form at 
www.maine.gov/revenue/forms/general/generalforms.htm to assist taxpayers in making a 
request for reconsideration.  The request should include all information necessary to 
support the taxpayer’s request. 
 
Note:  The procedure explained above replaces the procedure under prior law that 
required requests for reconsideration be filed with the MRS Appellate Division.  The 
MRS Appellate Division ceases to exist on July 1, 2012. 
 

- Under the law, the Division has 90 days from receipt of a request for reconsideration to 
issue a decision approving or denying the relief requested by the taxpayer.  This 90-day 
period may be extended by mutual agreement of the taxpayer and the Division.  During 
this period, the Division may attempt to resolve the matter with the taxpayer.  If the 
Division does not issue a decision within the 90-day period absent extension, the taxpayer 
may deem the request for reconsideration denied to exercise further appeal rights. 
 

- Any taxpayer not satisfied with a decision or deeming the request for reconsideration 
denied has additional rights of appeal.  A taxpayer may, within 60 days of receiving the 
decision, file a petition for review in the Superior Court.  Or a taxpayer may first appeal 
the matter to the Maine Board of Tax Appeals within 60 days of receiving the decision, if 
the petition for reconsideration originally filed with MRS does not constitute a “small 
claim request” under 36 MRSA § 151,.  A small claim request means a petition for 
reconsideration when the amount of tax or refund request in controversy is less than 
$5,000.  A small claim request may only be appealed to Superior Court.  Decisions of the 
Board of Tax Appeals may be appealed by the taxpayer or MRS to the Superior Court. 
 

- Reconsideration decisions issued by MRS on or after July 1, 2012 are subject to public 
disclosure in redacted form so as not to reveal the identity of the taxpayer or other 
interested party and to comply with federal confidentiality statutes. 

 
For more information on the new appeals process, see Your Rights as a Taxpayer brochure at 
www.maine.gov/revenue.  
 
See LD 1750, PL 2011, c. 694. 
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Department Telephone Numbers FAX Numbers E-mail Addresses 
Taxpayer Service Center (207) 287-2076 (207) 287-5855 
Appellate (207) 624-9854 (207) 287-3618 
Audit (207) 822-0450 (207) 822-0453 
Central Registration (207) 621-5129 (207) 287-3733 division.uctax@maine.gov 
Collections & Compliance (207) 624-9595 (207) 287-6627 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Corporate Tax (207) 624-9670 (207) 624-9694 corporate.tax@maine.gov 
E-file Help Desk (1040 ONLY) (207) 624-9730 (207) 287-6628 efile.helpdesk@maine.gov 
Electronic Funds Transfer (207) 287-8276 (207) 287-6975 efunds.transfer@maine.gov 
Estate & Fiduciary Tax (207) 626-8480 (207) 624-9694 estatetax@maine.gov 
Fuel Tax (207) 624-9609 (207) 287-6628 fuel.tax@maine.gov 
Forms Request Line (207) 624-7894  
Individual Income Tax Assistance (207) 626-8475 (207) 624-9694 income.tax@maine.gov 
Insurance Premium Tax (207) 624-9753 (207) 624-9694 
NexTalk (TTY Service) (888) 577-6690 
Payment Plan/Income Tax (207) 621-4300 (207) 621-4328 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Payment Plan/Other (207) 624-9595 (207) 287-6627 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Practitioners’ Hotline (207) 626-8458 (207) 624-9694 
Property Tax (207) 287-2013 (207) 287-6396 prop.tax@maine.gov 
Public Communications (207) 626-8478 (207) 624-9694  
Sales Tax (207) 624-9693 (207) 287-6628 sales.tax@maine.gov 
Tax Clearance Letters (207) 624-9628 (207) 287-6627  
Office of Tax Policy (207) 624-9789 (207) 287-3618 
Taxpayer Advocate (207) 624-9649 (207) 287-3618 taxpayer.advocate@maine.gov 
Withholding Tax (207) 626-8475 (207) 624-9694 withholding.tax@maine.gov 
Tax Violations Hot Line (207) 624-9600 

This publication is designed to keep taxpayers, tax 
practitioners and the general public informed of 
developments, problems, questions and matters of 
general interest concerning Maine tax law, policy and 
procedure.  The articles in this newsletter are not 
designed to address complex issues in detail, and they 
are not a substitute for Maine tax laws and/or 
regulations. 

Suggestions for the Tax Alert? 
 
Please contact: Public Communications (207) 626-8478 
Maine Revenue Services 
PO Box 1060 
Augusta, Maine  04332-1060 


